The 2021 forum was held online over three half days, the focus was on Asset Management and Asset Planning for Climate Change in electricity business.

The Programme and About the Presenters

To view and/or download the Asset Management 2021 Programme or the About the Presenters flyer, click on the icons below.

Programme and About the Presenters

Waqar Qureshi, Chair of the Asset Management Group (AMG) moderated the three sessions.

Dr Waqar Quershi as the new Chair of the Asset Management Group, Waqar is currently, GM Network & Technology at Horizon Energy.  He is currently responsible for the Horizon Energy portfolio of Asset Management, Operations and as well as the Groups Technology portfolio and has been focused on decarbonisation, electrification and climate change impacts on the electricity and infrastructure sector. He has over 15 years of experience in the energy sector in technical, management and executive positions and holds a PhD & Master of Engineering qualifications from the University of Auckland. He is a Chartered Professional Engineer; a certified Project Management Professional

Thank you to our AMG for your time and input in making these events occur for our industry.

Waqar Qureshi, Horizon Networks
Andrew Mulligan, Mainpower
Craig Wong, Orion
Grant Hogan, Unison
Jamie Jordan, Transpower
Kane Henderson, Genesis
Mark Zwies, Powernet
Michael O’Brien, Powerco
Rodger Griffiths, West Power/ Electronet
Russel Watson, Northpower
Weihao Zhou, WEL
Sean McCready, EEA


Andrew Tait —  National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA)

New Zealand Climate / Infrastructure

Rob Deaklin— Land Information New Zealand (LINZ)

Resilience and Climate Change

Alec Wild  — NIWA

Risk Management: Riskscape

Ray Hardy —  Wellington Electricity

Risk based approach to Vegetation Management

James Hughes — Tonkin & Taylor

Climate Risk & Overview of NZ reporting  requirements  


Anna Shaw — Energy Efficiency & Conservation Authority (EECA)

EECA Decarbonisation (presentation not available)

Neville Watson — University of Canterbury

Future Architecture projects

Simon Todd — Commerce Commence

Review of Electricity Distribution

Paul Blue — Counties Energy

Smart meter use: Counties Energy (presentation not available)

Dr Mark Bojesen-Trepka — NIWA

NIWA Lines tool

John He— Powerco

Power Quality


Richard Briggs — EECA

EECA electric vehicles strategy

Giacomo Lamplough — BECA

The Integration of electric aircraft in NZ: A Power Systems Study

Steve  Heinen — Vector

Vector EV Connection trial (presentation not available)

Ken Pattie — Powerco

Powerco GIS layers (presentation not available)

Rodger Griffiths — Westpower

DER Workshop, EA report

MoST Content Management V3.0.8818