eea - Electricity Engineers' Association

you are currently logged into EEA’s website

Workplace Safety Award


The EEA Workplace Safety Award is open to all ESI safety stakeholders including the generation, networks, field contracting, consulting and equipment supplier sectors of the electricity supply industry. The Award is to recognise excellence in health & safety including achievement or contribution to workplace safety by an organisation or individual. The award recognises initiatives to:

  1. Promote safety excellence in the electricity supply industry workplace.
  2. Raise awareness and ownership of health and safety issues and practices in the work place.
  3. Reduce accidents in the electricity supply industry.
  4. Encourage staff to participate in improving safety practices and procedures.
  5. Publicise ideas, procedures and training which provide for a higher standard of safety in our industry; and encourage debate on safe working procedures within industry and each company.

Entries may cover:

  • Development of new or improved types of safety equipment.
  • Development and implementation of new or improved safety methods, practices, procedures or design attributes
  • Ways of encouraging a positive safety messaging and staff participation in working safely.
  • Significant industry workplace safety performance.
  • Any other new aspect or suggestion which conforms to the Objectives set out above.


The Award consists of a trophy and a cash prize of $NZD500.


  1. The effectiveness of identification of the problem and the need for change.
  2. The extent of commitment in development and implementation.
  3. The effectiveness of the impact or outcome of the achievement in the workplace.
  4. The extent of integration of the achievement with other management systems in the organisation.
  5. The suitability of the achievement or contribution for wider application to industry.
  6. Compliance with all relevant statutory requirements.
  7. Evidence of achievement. Where possible, external verification of the achievement should be provided.

The judging panel will comprise of the EEA President (or nominee), the Chief Executive, MBIE Labour (or nominee), and an Employee Representative.


To encourage entries for this industry Award we have a two part process - Awards Entry and Award Finalist.

Part 1 - Award Entry - Descriptive Summary

The first part is for you to send to the EEA a descriptive summary of your Award entry (up to 600 words). The summary should succinctly cover information around the safety issue(s), key attribute(s), action(s) and factors. You can send in a maximum of three Award submission summaries.

The judging panel will look at the summaries and if necessary seek further comment from the submitters before selecting the finalists for the Award.

The Descriptive Summary of your Award entry should be submitted electronically as a PDF to:

A template of the Entry Form - Descriptive Summary is available in Word Format below for your use.

The closing date for the summaries is Friday, 5 April 2019. Finalists will be advised by no later than Friday, 19 April 2019.

Part 2 - The Award Finalist - Submission Details

If your descriptive summary is selected as a finalist you will need to provide more information to showcase your entry. This stage requires a little more work but it is important we have this information to help our judging panel select the winner and to showcase finalists. The judging panel may also contact you directly for more information.

The finalist submission should expand on the descriptive summary giving us the details and supporting information/data around the issue(s), key attribute(s), action(s) and factors you believe have contributed toward your successful safety outcome and demonstrating how the entry meets the judging criteria.

It should also include:

  • Diagrams and explanatory text and any published reviews or critiques undertaken by independent parties.
  • Supporting visual/multimedia material which could include up to 1-6 high quality colour images either in jpg or tif format, or clearly labelled photographs; and/or up to 25 seconds of mpg video file or automated PowerPoint presentation.
  • Sign-off by a member of the organisation's senior management team, or referee where appropriate.

Full entries close at 5pm on Friday, 10 May 2019 and should be sent in PDF format with supporting material to

The award will be presented at the 2019 EEA Conference.


The entrant accepts and agrees to the following terms and conditions:

  1. The award is open to all New Zealand electricity supply industry organisations and individuals, including, but not limited to: asset owners, contractors, consultants, equipment suppliers or others in the generation, network or electricity retail sectors.
  2. The entrant has obtained the permission of all relevant parties to proceed with the entry.
  3. The entrant gives permission to use any of the material provided for publicity and promotional purposes.
  4. The number of copies requested will be provided, and should further information be requested, this will be provided by the date specified.
  5. Should the entrant be announced as a finalist, the entrant must attend, and meet the costs of attending, the formal awards presentation at the EEA Conference in Auckland on 25 to 27 June 2019.
  6. The entrant accepts that the judges' decision is final and that no correspondence will be entered into.
  7. The judges undertake to observe the confidentiality of entries and to declare or avoid any possible conflict of interest.
  8. The judges reserve the right not to make an award where, in the judges' opinion, no entry of adequate standard has been received.
Click here to download the entry details and criteria
Click here to download the descriptive summary entry form
Click here to enter your descriptive summary online for the 2019 Workplace Safety Awards.

Previous Winners

2018 Winner - Mitton Electronet 'Virtual Reality for Site Induction Training'

2017 Winner - StayLive ' Alignment of WCP across the Generation Sector'

2016 Winner - Delta Utility Services 'Arc Flash Estimator Tool'

2015 Winner - Electrix Ltd 'Technical Distribution Guide'

2014 Winner - Unison Contracting Services 'Great Safety Performance Journey'

2013 Winner - Northpower 'Mobile Burns Unit'

2013 Merit - MainPower NZ Ltd '22kV Drop-out Fuse Extension Bracket'

2012 Winner - Northpower/Top Energy/Electrix/Transpower/EPMU 'Only You Have the Power to Change'

2012 Merit Award - Transpower 'Developing a Safety Culture'

2011 Winner - Top Energy 'Safety First' - Driving the Safety Culture Change

2011 Merit Awards - Unison Contracting 'Safe Working Near Electricity Education Session' Electrix Ltd 'LineFIT'

2010 Winner - Northpower 'Team Briefing Whiteboard'

2009 Winner - Siemens NZ Ltd 'Securing A Ladder in Storm Conditions'

2008 Winner - Connetics 'Responding to the Equipotential Zone Challenge'

2007 Winner - Transpower 'Transpower's Journey - Safety Culture to Safety Performance'

2006 Winner - Northpower 'Driving Safety Through Coaching - Northpower's Trade Coaches'

2005 Joint Winners:

  • Transfield Services E&T 'Safety Improvement Programme'
  • Siemens Energy Services 'A Safety Excellence Strategy'

In judging the 2005 submissions, the judging panel's comments were that all of the entries were of a very high quality and represented a serious and committed approach to excellence in safety management in our workplaces and in the wider public arena

2005 Merit Award - Connetics 'A Visual Communication Toolbox'

MoST Content Management V3.0.6932