eea - Electricity Engineers' Association

you are currently logged into EEA’s website

Public Safety Award


The EEA Public Safety Award recognises excellence in fostering public awareness and education about electricity safety and safety around electricity supply assets. The award is jointly sponsored by the Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment (MBIE) and the EEA. The award recognises initiatives to:

  1. Excellence in electrical safety of the public.
  2. Raise awareness of electrical safety issues in the local community.
  3. Reduce accidents to the public which involve electricity supply industry assets.
  4. Improve public understanding or awareness of electrical safety issues around electricity supply industry assets.
  5. Encourage industry and the public to think about and participate in electrical safety initiatives.
  6. Publicise ideas, procedures and programmes which deliver a high standard of public awareness of electrical safety.

Entries may cover:

  • The development of new or improved types of public safety promotion or information
  • The introduction of new or improved safety education methods, practices or procedures
  • New ways of encouraging a positive approach to electrical safety
  • Any other new aspect or suggestion which conforms to the objectives set out above


The award consists of a trophy and a cash prize of $NZD500.


Judging is in accordance with the following criteria:

  1. The effectiveness of identification of the problem the safety issue(s), the target audience and the medium selected.
  2. The extent of commitment in development and implementation.
  3. The effectiveness of the impact or outcome of the achievement in the public domain.
  4. The extent of integration of the achievement with other management systems in the organisation.
  5. The suitability of the achievement or contribution for wider application to industry.
  6. Compliance with all relevant statutory requirements.
  7. Evidence of achievement. Where possible, external verification of the achievement should be provided.

The judging panel will comprise the EEA President (or nominee), the Secretary of the Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment (or nominee) and an Employee Representative.


To encourage entries for this industry award we have a two part process - Awards Entry and Award Finalist.

Part 1 - Award Entry - Descriptive Summary

The first part is for you to send to the EEA a descriptive summary of your Award entry (up to 600 words). The summary should succinctly cover information around the public safety issue(s), key attribute(s), action(s) and factors. You can send in a maximum of three Award submission summaries.

The judging panel will look at the summaries and if necessary seek further comment from the submitters before selecting the finalists for the Award.

The Descriptive Summary of your Award entry should be submitted electronically as a PDF to:

A template of the Entry Form - Descriptive Summary is available in Word Format below for your use.

The closing date for the summaries is Friday, 5 April 2019. Finalists will be advised by no later than Friday, 19 April 2019.

Part 2 - The Award Finalist - Submission Details

If your descriptive summary is selected as a finalist you will need to provide more information to showcase your entry. This stage requires a little more work but it is important we have this information to help our judging panel select the winner and to showcase finalists. The judging panel may also contact you directly for more information.

The finalist submission should expand on the descriptive summary giving us the details and supporting information/data around the issue(s), key attribute(s), action(s) and factors you believe have contributed toward your successful safety outcome and demonstrating how the entry meets the judging criteria.

It should also include:

  • Diagrams and explanatory text and any published reviews or critiques undertaken by independent parties.
  • Supporting visual/multimedia material which could include up to 1-6 high quality colour images in jpg format, or clearly labelled photographs; and/or up to 25 seconds of mpg video file or automated PowerPoint presentation.
  • Sign-off by a member of the organizations senior management team, or referee where appropriate.

Entries should be sent in PDF format with supporting material to

Full entries close at 5pm on Friday, 10 May 2019 and should be sent in PDF format with supporting material to

The award will be presented at the 2019 EEA Conference.


The entrant accepts and agrees to the following terms and conditions:

  1. The award is open to all New Zealand electricity supply industry organisations and individuals, including, but not limited to: asset owners, contractors, consultants, equipment suppliers or others in the generation, network or electricity retail sectors.
  2. The entrant has obtained the permission of all relevant parties to proceed with the entry.
  3. The entrant gives permission to use any of the material provided for publicity and promotional purposes.
  4. The number of copies requested will be provided, and should further information be requested, this will be provided by the date specified.
  5. Should the entrant be announced as a finalist, the entrant must attend, and meet the costs of attending, the formal awards presentation at the EEA Conference in Auckland on 25-27 June 2019.
  6. The entrant accepts that the judges' decision is final and that no correspondence will be entered into.
  7. The judges undertake to observe the confidentiality of entries and to declare or avoid any possible conflict of interest.
  8. The judges reserve the right not to make an award where, in the judges' opinion, no entry of adequate standard has been received.
Click here to download the entry details and criteria
Click here to download the descriptive summary entry form
Click here to enter your descriptive summary online for the 2019 Public Safety Awards.


2018 Winner - Not Awarded

2017 Winner - Marlborough Lines 'Wine Industry Safety Posters'

2016 Winner - The Public Safety award was not awarded in 2016

2015 Winner - Powerco Ltd'Powerco's Public Safety Campaign'

2014 Winner - Vector Ltd'Vector Refreshes its Safety in School Programme'

2013 Winner - MainPower NZ Ltd 'Re-designed SWER Line Insulator Extension Bracket'

2009 Winner - Orion NZ 'Physical Security Plan'

2012 Winner - Vector Ltd 'Promoting Safety Through Schools'

2011 Winner - Orion NZ 'Public Safety Management following a Magnitude 7.1 Earthquake & Subsequent Aftershocks'

2010 Winner - TOP Energy 'Close Approach Consents Process' Safety Campaign

2008 Winner - WEL Networks 'Look Out!' campaign

2007 Winner - Vector 'Vector's Public Safety Programme' education programme

2006 Winner - The Award was not presented in 2006

2005 Winner - Vector 'Stay Safe Around Electricity Education Programme'

In judging the 2005 submissions, the judging panel's comments were that all of the entries were of a very high quality and represented a serious and committed approach to excellence in safety management in the public arena

2005 Merit Award - Unison 'Be Safe With Electricity'

MoST Content Management V3.0.6880